Dating from 1606, the Blue Boar is a traditional English village pub, situated in a quiet lane just off the village square in the picturesque village of Longworth, Oxfordshire.
Free, Ultrafast wi-fi. Easy wheelchair access from the car park at the rear of the building. Well-behaved dogs welcome in the bar area.
The Blue Boar was voted WINNER in the Traditional Pubs category at The Oxfordshire Restaurant Awards 2012
On the Blue Boar pub sign, the white boar and the white rose on the pennant represent the symbols of King Richard III.
The blue boar was the personal badge of the De Vere family - who were the Earls of Oxford. Legend has it that when Richard III was killed at the Battle of Bosworth in 1485, any White Boar pubs were quickly repainted as Blue Boars, as an acknowledgement that the white boar was dead and the blue boar prevailed. Well - that's how the story goes.
The River Thames
and the Thames National Trail are just a 20 minute stroll away. Turn right on leaving the Blue Boar, go to the bottom of Tucks Lane then follow the footpath up and over Harrowdown Hill.
For a short, circular walk of about 2 miles, starting and ending at the Blue Boar, click here. Also, a series of five local circular countryside walks, each with a map and interesting commentary, is available from the Longworth History Society.